Getting dirty

by HAPPY MAKER!

New piece for the Instagram watercolor challenge, by Fox & Hazel.
I think this one is my favorite yet. I used indian ink, to have more coverage quickly, since I don’t have black watercolor.

My Totoro consists of several layers of inking, the first ones being very light, and the others darker and darker. I had ink on my hands, at some point on my face too… And there it was, I messed up my drawing with the ink on my fingers… And so instead of starting a new painting, I went on with it. And got it even messier!

And it was so much fun, to paint with both brushes and fingers. The best parts of the painting in my opinion, are the ones that were porrly done or missed, with the unexpected splashes and fingerprints… !

My Totoro is below!

Nouvelle aquarelle pour le challenge #foxadwatercolour de Fox & Hazel sur Instagram, où nous devions faire un monochrome.
Jusqu’ici, c’est mon préféré! Réalisé avec de l’encre de chine comme je n’ai pas d’aquarelle noire.

Mon Totoro est fait de différentes couches, les premières claires, puis les suivantes de plus en foncées. J’essayais tellement de m’appliquer que je me suis retrouvée avec de l’encre sur les doigts et le visage, c’était pas beau à voir… ! Et à un moment j’ai commis l’irréparable: une grosse tâche d’encre bien noire en plein milieu… Et finalement j’ai joué à étaler l’encre avec les doigts. And voilà! Les parties “ratées” font de l’ensemble quelque chose de chouette je trouve.
Bref, je suis amoureuse de Totoro !
Quelques images juste en dessous.

Click on the pictures to enlarge.

 

Have a creative week!
Et à tous une jolie semaine!
Mwah.

 

8 thoughts on “Getting dirty

Leave a Reply

